Why didn’t my A-levels go the way I wanted AND how am I still applying for medicine?

When I applied for medicine to start in September 2016 I was very silly. Not because I applied for the subject, but because of how I went about my A-levels in the second year. My AS grades were AABD (with the D in Chemistry..eep), and whilst I wasn’t necessarily happy, I knew that I could retake Chemistry.

But this meant extra work. Not only did I have to revise my AS Chemistry and one AS Biology module, I had to learn the A2 content AND practice for the UKCAT (Which I idiotically didn’t take in summer) and the BMATs. I had to write my personal statement, where I ended up with eight drafts, and hound teachers for references. As you can see- I was basically doomed.

What I think is, when you don’t start your academic year in the right frame of mind, or if you’re stressed, it’s much harder to accomplish goals you set for yourself.

That’s what happened to me. Along with some extenuating circumstances that I didn’t disclose, going out with friends and not revising effectively, I was so distracted by the time the final exams came along that I completely bombed. My final A-level grades were BBC and I felt all hope was lost. Prior to getting my grades, I had been rejected from all four medical schools for various reasons anyway but my A-levels were supposed to be my saving grace:

Nottingham: Predicted grades not good enough

Leicester: Predicted grades not good enough

Imperial: Low BMAT/Predicted grades

Kings (EMDP): Interview score lower than other people

Studying medicine has been my dream for a long time and to get the grades I got and be rejected from all 4 universities really crushed me. I thought the dream was over.

After getting my results I went home and thought long and hard about it. I even started looking at what else I could do, but there really was nothing else for me BUT medicine.

And that’s another thing I’ve learnt- when you’re passionate about something, go for it. No matter what people say or think their opinion shouldn’t rule over your life. I knew that there was nothing else that I wanted to do. So I started looking at alternatives, the widening participation programmes, the access to medicine courses etc.

I applied for 3 widening participation programmes this time around and 1 non-WP course. I also applied for biological sciences and I hope and pray that this year I go to university and do what I want to do.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that there is always another way/route into anything you want to do. Don’t give up. The journey and what you learn from it is so important, especially when you’ve finally achieved your goal.

Peace and love,

Sewa x

 

Leave a Reply

